Blood Sentence – Keith Nixon

4/5

Intro

A new police series where the main character is actually a pretty decent person? Sign me up! 

Synopsis

Three bodies, one suspect. That suspect is you…

When the unidentified corpse of an apparent suicide victim is found hanging above a complex pattern of forty photographs of children, Detective Inspector Jonah Pennance of the Met’s specialist Sapphire Unit is brought in to investigate.

A post-mortem reveals the suicide was murder, and Pennance realises he knows the man. But as the body count rises, all the signs point to a care home in Kent – a place that Pennance is all too familiar with.

The problem is the only person connecting the victims is Pennance – and he has a solid motive for wanting them dead… Can Pennance prove his innocence?

Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James Blood Sentence is the first book in the explosive series featuring Detective Inspector Jonah Pennance.

Review

This book was so good! I really enjoyed Keith Nixon’s style of writing and how well he described places, people and general events. 

Pennance is a great character and one I really got behind, his relationship with Smithson is one I look forward to seeing develop as I think they make a really good team. 

I am also useless at seeing plot twists in books, no idea why as I can usually find them in tv shows! There were numerous different strings that all were connected but with no real idea how. 

The backstory being teased out, the various bits of damning evidence against Pennance, and how everything plays out is definitely worth the wait and I could’nt beleive how everything was intricately linked! 

I am looking forward to reading more about Pennance and Smithson and will check out some other books by Nixon, for sure! 

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Scroll to Top